A Fatherly Affair Pt. II

Wednesday, August 8th, 2012

The next morning was incredibly awkward. I had finally met the daughter he was much so raving about and she was pretty awesome. I actually liked her even thought I only met her for a full on minute.  But I’ve been there, I know what it’s like being that kid who sees a parent sleep with someone else who isn’t your mom (or in this case, dad). So I have m reservations and my respect for them. Because I am one of them.

That morning we watched a little bit of the olympics. and We just talked about stats in the living room and after that I finally went my way after all of the events of the previous 24 hours, I had finally decided that it was all worth it. I actually would like to be this guy’s friend, he is after all, a pretty awesome guy who has a pretty sweet job in the UC system and he drinks and isn’t stingy. WHATS NOT TO LIKE ABOUT HIM!  I drove home feeling a little bit more confident that I was when I first arrived in Merced. Mostly, beside the fact that I got some dick, I felt like I connected with someone who was just plain awesome and didn’t really care what anyone thought.

I love that about people.

We even felt completely enthusiastic and sincere about meeting up again in a week and doing something friend-esque. like going on trips and seeing new things. Those are things I never get to do very often and I would love doing them (even more so with a fun person, my  “intellectual”, lawyer ex was very “let’s do this but let’s be very rational and careful about playing miniature golf”) So I need someone spontaneous  and fun and carefree but responsible.

All these things raced in my mind and i was excited I found a new friend. I texted him

“Thank you for an awesome time” and he responded very positively about it.  And I continues on my way.

Lets see how this one plays out. sounds promising…

Leave a Reply

